TGP_Select_Adam Jason Photography_06.jpg
TGP_Select_Adam Jason Photography_06.jpg

The Grand Paradise

January 30–December 31, 2016
New York


The Grand Paradise

January 30–December 31, 2016
New York

About the Project

Set in those hazy and culturally liminal years of the late 1970s becoming the 1980s in the United States, The Grand Paradise was an immersive theater work that combined experiential theater, a late 1970s tropical resort, and a fountain of youth that promised to quench deepest longings. Greeted with a tropical drink and a garland of flowers, visitors encountered the resort’s resident population; characters who embodied the era’s shifting and blurring values. Audiences explored the resort and beaches, watched a floorshow, followed performers into one-on-one encounters, where faded ideals might be traded for shiny new illusions.



Videography by The Pekoe Group




Photography by Adam Jason Photography, Darial Sneed, and The Pekoe Group





Creative Team

Created by Third Rail Projects

Directed, Designed, Written, and Choreographed by
Zach Morris, Tom Pearson, and Jennine Willett
in collaboration with The Company

Produced in Association with Bill Caleo and Zach Stern

Created in Collaboration with
Erik Abbott-Main, Elizabeth Carena, Alberto Denis, Ashley Handel, Roxanne Kidd, Jeff Lyon, Rebekah Morin, Lauren Muraski, Marissa Nielsen-Pincus, Tara O'Con, Wil Petre, Joshua Reaver, Katrina Reid, Edward Rice, Ashley Robicheaux, Sebastiani Romagnolo, Jessy Smith, Tori Sparks, Niko Tsocanos, Carlton Cyrus Ward

Production Staff

Production Design: Zach Morris, Tom Pearson, and Jennine Willett
Original Music & Sound Design: Sean Hagerty
Costume Design: Karen Young
Scenic Design: Elisabeth Svenningsen
Lighting Coordinator: The Dangerous Lady

Assistant Directors: Marissa Nielsen-Pincus, Edward Rice
Stage Manager: Kristina Vnook
Construction Lead: Carlton Cyrus Ward
Production Manager: Brittany Crowell
Assosciate Production Managers: Jordan Schulze, Elisabeth Svenningsen
Rehearsal Directors: Jessy Smith, Niko Tsocanos

Assistant Stage Managers: Nick Auer, TJ Burleson, Dana Gal, Sarah Weinflash
Assistant Stage Manager Swings: Cameron Michael Burns, Samara Seligsohn
Production Assistants: Corinne Brenner, Heather Frew, Ange Lopilato, Michaela Whiting
Production Interns: Jake Ely, Johanna Hunter
Box Office Manager: Michael Bell
Box Office Associate: Joshua Gonzales
Box Office Staff: Dana Gal

Associate Sound Design: Isaiah Singer
Costume Design Assistant: Audrey Ketchell
Scenic Charge: Beth Svenningsen
Scenic Artists: Julia Bilbao, TJ Burleson, Emma McDonnell, Larissa Skye Van Rensselaer
Scenic Interns: James Barber, Greer Duckworth, Kalyani Priyadarsan, Brendan Sullivan
Illustrations and Graphic Design: Emma McDonnell
Props Coordinator: Kristina Vnook
Wardrobe Supervisor: TJ Burleson
Wardrobe Assistant: Mary Rubi
Stitchers: Anna Alisa Belous, Jin Ha Fan
Build Crew: Claire Bacon, Emma Hoette, Rebekah Morin, Parker Murphy,
Lily Ockwell, Sebastiani Romangnolo, Tristan Sylvester, Simon Thomas-Train
Light Crew: Where Huertas, Jeromy Hunt, Melissa Mizell
Sound Crew: Olivia Gemelli


Sean Hagerty: electric mandolin, violin, banjo
Isaiah Singer: bass, electric piano, electric, acoustic, and steel guitars, harmonica
Ben Magnuson: Rhodes piano, organ
Mike Lunoe: drums, percussion

"Echo (Drink till You Drown)"
Lyrics by Tom Pearson
Music by Sean Hagerty and Elizabeth Carena

"Hourglass (If We Could Find…)"
Lyrics by Tom Pearson
Music by Sean Hagerty and Elizabeth Carena

In-Flight Video
Producer: Tori Sparks
Performers: Michael Bell, Einy Åm Sparks
Video Editor: Einy Åm Sparks
Director of Photography: Julio Florio
Technical Supervisor: Tyler Sparks

Project Support

Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz, P.C., Mark A. Merriman, Esq. and Helen Reeves, Esq.

Mark D’Ambrosi, Partner, Marks Paneth LLP

Thank you to Third Rail Projects' Producers Circle - visionary champions who helped make the development of The Grand Paradise possible.

Mark Baltazar, Christina Basch, Stephen Berenson, Beth Biegler, Ron Black, Christy Burke, John Callery, Lisa and Joe Carena, James Cavanaugh, Jae Day, Kelly DeAngelis, Mark Dobrow, Alice Doo, Ellen Elkins, Aron Estaver, Lawton Fitt and James McLaren, Dr. Peter C. Friedman, Carla Geisser, Judy and Steven Gluckstern and The Lucky Star Foundation, Daniel Gomez, Matthew Gratz, Harvey Guion, Rick Hamilton, David Held, Stephanie and Ron Kramer, Brett Kuehner, Lisa LaMattina, Adam Landry, Patty Laxton, Leonard Lee, Laura Leslie, Giorgio Manes, Tony Mansour, Karyn Margolis, Chris Michaud, Virginia and Timothy Millhiser, Maggie and Ken Morris, Mary Ellen Obias, Laureen Ojalvo and PJ Maglione, Maria Pacana, Thomas Palmer and Dominique Alfandre, Jennifer Pontius, Brette Popper and Paul Spraos, Sheila Raughter, Charles Read, Darcy Reaver, Marta Renzi, Susan and Tom Rice, Lynn and John Salmon, Tim and Anna Schumacher, Diego Segallini and Daria Masullo, Brad Seiler, Martha Sherman, Lindsi Shine, Jill Slater, Dr. Philip Sohn, Robert Stevens, James Stuart, Kimberly and Mark Tsocanos, and Julian Yap

Thanks also to our 2015 Kickstarter backers who helped make this work possible.

The development phase of The Grand Paradise was made possible, in part, with initial support from Governors Island, Materials for the Arts/New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and Department of Sanitation, The [QuA2D] Art Mill Residency in Jeffersonville, NY provided by Daniel Castellanos & John Wenk, Third Rail’s fiscal sponsor Fractured Atlas &; and by Third Rail Projects, with support from individual and institutional donors, and volunteers. Third Rail Projects also extends its sincerest gratitude to Arts Brookfield for its significant support throughout the development of The Grand Paradise.

Additional thanks: Tara O’Con, Bob Ocon - Federal Aviation Administration, New York Center, JetBlue Airways, John Martin - Manager Air Traffic Services for JetBlue Airways, Tamara Young - Manager Corporate Communications for JetBlue Airways Hewn Bros., Infinite Scenic, NJ Agwuna, Anna Aschliman, Nick Auer, Erika Barbee, Julia Bilbao, Aidan Bose-Rosling, Giulia Carotenuto, Erin Cohen, Kirsten Cooper, Megan Correia, Brittany Crowell, Alberto Denis, Carina Don, Brendan Duggan, Caitlin Dutton, Desi Fisher, Jim Freeman, Gabriela Gowdie, Dana Gal, Abagail Greenbaum, Ashley Handel, Emma Hoette, Brian James, Meridith Jones, Julia Kelly, Roxanne Kidd, Annette Koehn, Kate Ladenheim, Valerie Light, Justin Lynch, Jeff Lyon, Zach Martens, Emma McDonnell, Zach McNally, Rebekah Morin, Parker Murphy, Christina Ng, Alannah O’Hagan, Lily Ockwell, Paul Olmer, Emily Padden, Eh-den Perlove, Carly Plagianakos, Aimee Plauche, Brendan Quigley, Becky Radway, Joshua Reaver, Kristina Reid, Max Robinson, Sebastiani Romagnolo, Kim Savarino, Alex Schell, Alison Schilling, Kelsey Schroth, Julie Seal, Samara Seligsohn, Jessy Smith, Shanyn Strüb, Sam Swanton, Simon Thomas-Train, Ava-Margeaux Tierney, Rebecca Vineyard, Kristina Vnook, Stewart Wagner, Erin Young.